University of Rochester

Advancement Awards

Eastman School of Music

John N. Wilder Award

Established in 2008, the John N. Wilder Award honors an individual, family, association, corporation, or foundation whose philanthropy inspires others in support of an “Ever Better” University of Rochester. The award is named for John Wilder, first president (chairman) of the University’s Board of Trustees.

2012 Recipient

Doris Johnson Hults

A professional harpist who enjoyed an exciting career performing for radio, television, and motion pictures, Doris Johnson Hults deeply appreciated her time at the Eastman School of Music. She believed that her Eastman training prepared her for success in a fiercely competitive field. As a symbol of her gratitude, she established a generous bequest that, in her words, “would enable Eastman to continue to grow and maintain its high standards.” Now, 16 years later, her dream is coming true. Through her generosity, the Dean’s Performance Scholarship Fund will provide financial assistance for our most gifted undergraduates. Her support will open doors for talented young artists who demonstrate extraordinary abilities in musical performance. Her legacy will benefit our students for years to come and help future generations realize the same success in music that she achieved. We are deeply grateful for Doris Johnson Hults’ loyalty, vision, and generosity, and we honor her memory with this award. 

Recipients of the John N. Wilder Award