University of Rochester

Advancement Awards

School of Nursing

Dean’s Medal

Established in 2008, the Dean’s Medal recognizes extraordinary service, philanthropy, and leadership to the School, and dedication and commitment that inspire others to take leadership roles at the University. Individuals, families, associations, corporations, or foundations may be recognized. It is among the highest honors given by the School. 

2016 Award Recipient

Madeline Hubbard Schmitt

Highly revered as a leading nurse-sociologist, Professor Emerita Madeline Schmitt has been pivotal in advancing interprofessional collaborative practice and interprofessional education. One of two US members of the WHO Study Group on Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice, she led groundbreaking work as co-author of Framework for Action in Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice. As chair of an expert panel that produced the landmark report, Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice, Dr. Schmitt propelled a national transformation in health professions education. Internationally acclaimed as creator and chair of the North American Division of the Journal of Interprofessional Care, she now serves as editor emerita. A beloved faculty member at the School of Nursing for 33 years, she played an integral role in the nursing department’s emergence from a regionally-focused entity to a nationally acclaimed autonomous school. In retirement, her tireless work continues through her roles as a national consultant and as an ambassador and community moderator for the National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education. Deeply devoted to the School, she is a tremendous resource to our leadership and our faculty. Beloved by her peers in Rochester and beyond, she is a role model for the School, its students, and its alumni. It is with deep affection and heartfelt gratitude that this honor is bestowed.

Recipients of the Dean’s Medal