University of Rochester

Advancement Awards

School of Nursing

John N. Wilder Award

Established in 2008, the John N. Wilder Award honors an individual, family, association, corporation, or foundation whose philanthropy inspires others in support of an “Ever Better” University of Rochester. The award is named for John Wilder, first president (chairman) of the University’s Board of Trustees.

2015 Award Recipient

Lisa Helen Norsen

Pushing boundaries—the embodiment of being “Ever Better”—has defined Lisa Norsen and her relationship with the School of Nursing for 38 years. Over time she earned three degrees and a post-master’s certificate from the School, and marshaled her scholarship, education, and training to propel nursing forward. Lisa was one of the first nurse practitioners in the nation to practice in an acute care setting. As a former top leader of the University’s Center for Nursing Entrepreneurship she expanded school-based health centers in the Rochester community. As immediate past leader of our Sovie Institute for Advanced Practice, Scholarship, and Innovation she forged a close partnership between nursing education and practice. Throughout her exemplary career, Lisa’s commitment has inspired others, as professionals and as forward-thinking donors to the School. She is a member of the George Eastman Circle, the University’s leadership annual giving society, and one of 30 members of the OneRochester Leadership Council, the faculty and staff fundraising campaign associated with The Meliora Challenge, the largest campaign in the University’s history. Her devotion to an “Ever Better” School of Nursing has left an indelible mark. It is with great admiration and gratitude that we bestow this honor.

Recipients of the John N. Wilder Award