University of Rochester

Advancement Awards

Simon Business School

Dean’s Medal

Established in 2008, the Dean’s Medal recognizes extraordinary service, philanthropy, and leadership to the School, and dedication and commitment that inspire others to take leadership roles at the University. Individuals, families, associations, corporations, or foundations may be recognized. It is among the highest honors given by the School. 

2015 Award Recipient

Edward J. Ackley

A highly successful businessman and entrepreneur, Edward Ackley has led a distinguished career that includes building a company into a multimillion-dollar global leader in filtration technology and creating a spinoff before selling both firms separately to major U.S. companies, and creating a thriving online distribution firm. Wanting to help students develop the kind of entrepreneurial confidence he gained from earning his master’s degree at the Simon School, Ed has been dedicated to creating opportunities for Simon students to become future leaders in the business world. In 2005, in partnership with his wife, Agnes ’54, he established an endowed professorship in entrepreneurship to help the School bolster its world-class entrepreneurship faculty and strengthen its MBA program. They have also been dedicated supporters of the annual Simon NYC Conference, where industry executives, government officials, and preeminent faculty discuss key issues in the business community including the role that entrepreneurship plays in bettering society. A longstanding volunteer and University advisor, Ed is a previous recipient of the Simon School Distinguished Alumnus Award. His passion for giving back, and his influence as a volunteer and advisor, inspire others to support entrepreneurship initiatives at the School and across the University. For his remarkable generosity, unwavering leadership and commitment to the study of entrepreneurship at Simon, Ed Ackley is greatly deserving of the Dean’s Medal, and it is with deepest and heartfelt gratitude that this honor is bestowed.

Recipients of the Dean’s Medal